About Robertson

The Robertson electorate is located on the beautiful New South Wales Central Coast, about an hour north of Sydney.

The Robertson electorate is located is located on the beautiful New South Wales Central Coast

There are more than 140,000 people who live in the Robertson electorate.

Prominent industries include health, light manufacturing and construction, retail, education and training, food and accommodation services, tourism, as well as diverse forms of agriculture including citrus, vegetables, poultry production and flower growing.

The Division of Robertson was proclaimed in 1900 and was one of the original 65 divisions that were contested at the first federal election in 1901 following Federation and the establishment of the Commonwealth of Australia. It is named in honour of Sir John Robertson, who served as the Premier of New South Wales five times between 1860 and 1886. Sir John Robertson worked within the established 19th century economic and democratic structures to campaign tirelessly for land reform, disrupting the monopoly of the establishment squatters to open up more opportunities for smaller farmers in New South Wales. His achievements enabled more farmers to pursue individual enterprise and productivity.

The land area in Robertson is approximately 978 sq km and includes the following suburbs:

Avoca Beach, Bar Point, Bensville, Blackwall, Booker Bay, Calga, Central Mangrove, Cheero Point, Cogra Bay, Copacabana, Daleys Point, Davistown, East Gosford, Empire Bay, Erina, Erina Heights, Ettalong Beach, Glenworth Valley, Gosford, Green Point, Greengrove, Gunderman, Hardys Bay, Holgate, Horsfield Bay, Kariong, Killcare, Killcare Heights, Kincumber, Kincumber South, Koolewong, Kulnura, Lisarow, Little Wobby, Lower Mangrove, Macmasters Beach, Mangrove Creek, Mangrove Mountain, Marlow, Mooney Mooney, Mooney Mooney Creek, Mount White, Narara, Niagara Park, North Avoca, North Gosford, Patonga, Pearl Beach, Peats Ridge, Phegans Bay, Picketts Valley, Point Clare, Point Frederick, Pretty Beach, Saratoga, Somersby, Spencer, Springfield, St Huberts Island, Tascott, Terrigal, Umina Beach, Wagstaffe, Wamberal, Wendoree Park, West Gosford, Wondabyne, Woy Woy,Woy Woy Bay, Yattalunga.